18.196

## **RE: Local Electoral Area Boundary Committee**

Dear Secretary,

I welcome the opportunity to submit my views to the Local Electoral Area Boundary Committee.

The West Mayo Municipal District is a vast geographic area the second largest district in the country stretching from Belderrig to Louisburgh. Geographically it is too large of an Electoral area.

Within the West Mayo Municipal District there is a large region known as Erris which is almost the same size as County Louth.

The Erris region comprising of 18 District Electoral Divisions An Geata Mór Theas, An Geata Mór Thuaidh, Belmullet, Glencastle, Muings, Knocknalower, Knockadaff, Muingnabo, Barroosky, Glenamoy, Sheskin, Goolamore, Bangor, Glenco, Rathill, Ballycroy North, Ballycroy South, Béal Deirg Mór. (Attached Map)

I suggest that the above Erris District Electoral Divisions plus Ballycastle is made into a separate Three Seater Local Electoral area. According to the 2016 Census there is a population of 8997 in those District Electoral Divisions and within this region there are three towns Bangor, Belmullet and Ballycastle. The County Council regional office is located in the town of Belmullet.

I trust that my submission will receive due consideration and that the Erris Region would become a separate Three Seater Local Electoral Area.

Please do not hesitate to contact me if you need any further information

Sincerely

Sean Carey

